XII: The Hanged Man.

hanged man

The Hanged Man is the ultimate surrender It’s the ultimate self-sacrifice for the greater good.  He’s hanging in the tree, but of his own free will.  He’s voluntarily stepping away from the world in order to arrive at the truth.  And you can see by his halo, he’s going to find that truth he is seeking.   Continue reading

XI: Karma/Justice.


The Justice card is all about Karma.  What you reap, you will sow.  Don’t deny the consequences of your thoughts, words, and actions.  Justice holds a double edged sword signifying impartiality – it cuts both ways.  The Justice card is one of three cards in the tarot representing the three cardinal virtues.  The others are Strength and Temperance.   Continue reading

X: The Wheel of Fortune.


The Wheel of Fortune reminds us that nothing in life is fixed.  While everything is whirling all around us, we should try to maintain balanced in our heart, mind, spirit, and body through all the ups and downs.  In times of sadness, maintain your equilibrium.  In times of joy, maintain your equilibrium. Continue reading

VIII: Strength.


Like a boss.

While the Chariot was all about outer strength, the Strength card is all about inner strength.  The power seen in the Chariot card is being tested in this card.  Those mountains in the background represent challenges.  The woman has tamed the lion, representing her overcoming her inner demons – ego, lust, impatience.  The infinity symbol over her head is the same as the infinity sign we saw with the magician.  She’s wearing white, like the fool, representing purity and innocence.  And we saw those mountains in the background, those challenges she is overcoming, in the Lovers card. Continue reading

VII: The Chariot.


The Chariot is all about action and focused energy.  Some negative past influence may be having an impact on the present.  It’s time to see things clearly and take responsibility for your present condition.  Pay attention to nudges – an important message is coming to you.   Continue reading

VI: The Lovers.


The Lovers!  One of the most beautiful and also one of the most misunderstood cards of the deck.  Only when we’ve got ourselves figured out can we have lasting relationships.  While the Hierophant represented a belief system, the Lovers move beyond the orthodox set of rules.  Instead we discover for ourselves what we believe in and what we stand for.  The angel above the Lovers is Raphael, the angel of air and of healing.  He is associated with communication.   Continue reading

I: The Magician.

The Magician

The Magician!  Or as you can see from my Tarot of the Spirit deck, it can also be called The Magus.  This baby is all about Focused Action.  You’ve got everything you need – it’s all laid out in front of him on the table.  Interestingly, the table shows a representation of all the suits from the Minor Arcana cards: swords, wands, cups, and pentacles.  Biddy Tarot points out that these symbolize the appropriate use of mind, body, heart, and soul in the process of manifesting.  Use everything you’ve got to create something amazing!  Continue reading

0: The Fool.

The Fool

The Fool from the Tarot of the Spirit deck

The Fool.  The beginning!  And the end!  I love this card.  The fool is all about empowerment – setting out on the journey is the first step in empowering himself.  It’s all about our unlimited potential!  While it looks like the poor fool is about to step off a cliff, the radiant sun is a reminder that he’s cradled in love.  The sun rising behind the fool is symbolic of the first step of the journey.   Continue reading


The Major Arcana are the 22 cards that are all about life’s BIG mysteries (and Major Arcana even means “big secret”).  These are the cards with roman numerals, numbered from 0 to XXI.  These cards aren’t like life checkpoints: I got a new job, I broke up with my boyfriend, I moved across town…  Instead it’s more like, WHAT DOES IT ALL MEAN?!  WHO AM I?  WHAT AM I DOING ON THIS PLANET?  These are broad themes, broad experiences, and broad energies in our lives.  These are the major archetypes we go through in our lives and as a result, who we are emerges.  While these certainly feel very personal, in some ways they aren’t.  They’re the major experiences that we ALL go through; it’s just part of being human.


The Major Arcana cards from 0 to 22 are sometimes called the Hero’s Journey or Fool’s Journey.  Cards 0 (The Fool) through 8 (The Chariot) are the basic foundation of that journey and it’s these cards where our personality and who we’re becoming are formed.  This is all about our conscious journey in life.  Jeanne Fiorini, founder of TarotWorks, has a great video explaining this foundational journey on her YouTube channel.

Cards 8 through 14 (Strength through Justice) are all about growing.  It’s the journey where we begin to explore our subconscious.  All those hardships we overcome (yayyy) that allow us to learn about life on a deeper level.  These are helping us develop as people and helping us explore ways to respond to obstacles.  How do we deal with challenges?  What is our response to adversity?

Finally, cards 15 through 22 (Devil through World) are all about TRANSFORMING!  It’s not about us anymore – it’s about the big picture, and is considered the super-conscious.  These are forces outside our life and the stakes are high.  You either need to figure out how to grow or stay stuck where you are.  This is where higher learning and ultimately our transcendence comes from.  It’s the opportunity to eclipse the surface level bullshit to get to a greater understanding of ourselves and our connection to the universe.

If you’re hungry for more info about the Major Arcana, self-proclaimed “Kickass Witch” Joanna Devoe has a wonderful intro video about the topic.  She radiates enthusiasm and makes heavy subject matter incredibly fun.  Check out her video here.

Lastly, this isn’t a linear path.  The journey is a cycle – the fool can be the beginning or the end.

I hope you enjoyed my first post – of course I started with the most complicated part of the tarot.  Kicking things off by running towards the fire.  xo